Main content

The complete history of the Mighty Magpies

    • Sort by
    • View as
Tony Shaw coaches in a 1999 match.
Port Adelaide legend John Cahill became the first man to arrive from outside Victoria and coach at Victoria Park.
Nathan Buckley in action during the 20/20 Tsunami cricket match between Melbourne and Collingwood at Junction Oval on January 30, 2005.
The Britannia Football Club in 1891.
The incident that led to Gordon Coventry's suspension, as Richmond players come in to remonstrate (Reference The Official Collingwood Illustrated Encyclopedia by Michael Roberts and Glenn McFarlane).
Murray Weideman the coach.
Neil Mann the coach.
The suburb of Collingwood, from the Town Hall Tower - date unknown.
Lou Richards farewells fans.
Shane O'Bree showcases Collingwood's pre-season jumper circa 2001-2004 in the third round of the 2001 Ansett Cup against North Melbourne at Colonial Stadium.
Darren Millane in the rooms after a match in 1991.
Ranald Macdonald promotes 'The New Magpies' in 1982.
The in 2000.
Back row: S Blanch (bootstudder), J Dicker (Committee), G Carrison (Committee), J Thatcher, B Gray, A Chapman, D Dalton, W Skewes (Committee), T Smith (Door steward), K Tate (trainer). Third row: L Bromley (Committee), K Huppatz, D Wright, L Clark, N Vincent, E Burgess, A Pond(Committee), T Pew (Committee). Second row: R Smith (Trainer), L Lees (Head trainer), J Smith (secretary), M Ballantyne, R Sanders, L Adamson, G Jenkin, L Evans, M Pitt, I Bremner, Fr Bruce (Committee), B Lewis (Trainer), G Hudd (Committee). Front row: R Patterson (Property steward), J Burton, P Wadham, L Thompson, J Smith (Chairman), E Hutchesson (Captain), N Mann (Coach), J Mahon, V Ellis, D Searl, J Morrison (Messenger).
The 1896 Premiers.
Dale Thomas in action during the First Test of the 2008 International Rules Series at Subiaco Oval in Perth.
Collingwood supporters celebrate a goal in the round 20 contest against Sydney in 2013.
The team sing the song alongside actor Rob Lowe, president Eddie McGuire and captain Nathan Buckley in the win over St Kilda in round, 2003.
The 1960 team.
Tony Shaw coaches in a 1999 match.
The motto 'Floreat Pica' features on the front of the club's 1974 Christmas card.
Norm Le Brun
The Argus highlights the MCG during the 1956 Melbourne Olympic Games.
Eddie McGuire
Bob Rose (middle) celebrates a win with Ian Graham (left) and David Norman (right).
A supporter sends off Victoria Park on its final day.
The 2006 All-Australian team.
John Greening is stretchered from the ground after the incident.
Nathan Buckley talks with his coach Mick Malthouse during the round two match between Collingwood and the Western Bulldogs at the MCG in 2004.
George Bisset
Marcus Boyall
Justin Crow managed one senior match for Collingwood
Vin Doherty in 1935.
Dane Swan of Australia in action against Leighton Glynn of Ireland during the Irish Daily Mail International Rules Series 1st Test between Ireland and Australia at the Gaelic Grounds, Limerick in 2010.
Bill Strickland
Saverio Rocca flies for a mark against West Coast in the round 13 contest in 1993, the match he was nominated for the AFL Rising Star Award.
Heath Shaw is presented with the Rose-Sutton Medal by Charles Sutton Junior after the round six win in 2011.
Heath Shaw proudly shows off the Michael Tuck Medal in 2011.
Ben Johnson runs off the ground after receiving the Jason McCartney Medal in 2004.
Gavin Brown, captain of the Victorian side, and Brett Ratten in the rooms after the 1997 win over South Australia.
Dane Swan and Leigh Matthews at the 2011 AFLPA awards night.
Chris Tarrant accepts the ANZAC Day Medal after kicking five goals in the 2001 loss.
Leon Davis celebrates a goal.
Andrew Krakouer flies for a mark in the round nine match against Adelaide in 2011.
Nathan Buckley takes off the Norm Smith Medal after the 2002 Grand Final loss to Brisbane.
Dick Lee led the league in total goals kicked on eight occasions.
Dane Swan proudly displays his Brownlow Medal, won in 2011.
Kevin Rose
Allan McAlister looks on during the 1995 round 7 contest between Collingwood and Sydney.
Ranald Macdonald
John Hickey
Ern Clarke
Tom Sherrin
Syd Coventry
Provide feedback Ask the Experts